How Are Electric Bike Laws By the State? Know More
What are electric bike laws by the state? The laws vary from state to state; some prohibit electric bikes under any circumstances, while others allow them at low power. Some states require helmets, while others don't. The truth is that most states have some restrictions on electric bikes because they can be dangerous if not used properly. The most important thing you need to remember is that electric bikes are not allowed on most public streets and highways. Even if you own an electric bike, state law requires that you have a license to operate it, which can be obtained by purchasing an electric bike license. The license must be renewed every year to maintain its validity. So make sure to check if the electric bike laws in your state change from time to time. Here is a compilation of states' rules regarding the use of electric bikes:
Electric Bikes may not be operated on roads without paved shoulders and must conform to traffic signs and regulations applicable, including the use of cycle lanes.
Electric Bikes may not be operated on any roads or highways constructed with state funds, including most major roads in Alaska.
Arizona does not have any helmet laws for electric bikes. Electric bikes are not allowed on highways, bike paths, or multi-use trails with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or greater. However, it is evident that the law only applies to motorized bicycles as non-motorized electric bicycles are allowed anywhere it is legal to ride a bicycle. The definition of a bicycle includes electric bicycles in Arizona, and they are considered vehicles according to motor vehicle laws while operating on bicycle paths only.
Electric bikes are not allowed on highways and multi-use paths. Electric bikes may be operated where bicycles are permitted but may not operate simultaneously as a motorized bicycle or moped. Because electric bikes are considered motorized vehicles, they must conform to traffic laws and regulations as applicable to motorized vehicles. If a person rides an electric bike that is not a bicycle or moped by law, then the person is operating it as a motorized vehicle, requiring a driver's license. Anyone operating an electric bike in Arkansas without a valid driver's license violates state law.
All electric bikes are illegal to use anywhere in California. All electric bikes must be registered with the DMV, but new regulations have recently been implemented for those who wish to register their eBike. The DMV requires that all electric bikes be registered but does not require that eBikes be titled or licensed. A person may ride an electric bike designed to be operated on the ground upon which a motor vehicle may be operated only if the motor has a maximum speed of 20 miles per hour or less and is no longer than 20 inches in diameter. If any part of an eBike contacts a vehicle while being ridden, it is considered a motorized bicycle and must comply with all laws applicable to motorized bicycles.
Colorado does not provide any electric bike laws by state regarding the use of electric bicycles in public. In addition, Colorado does not require motorized bicycles to be licensed. Small motorized bicycles are governed by the same rules and regulations as other vehicles on the road and are subject to state licensing requirements as applicable to vehicles. The transportation of five or fewer persons on a non-motorized electric bicycle is permitted by law only if all of those persons are 16 years of age or older and every person wears a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet that complies with Consumer Product Safety Commission standards. Two helmet requirements only apply to motorized and electric bicycles.
Electric bikes may be used on roads and streets provided the operator does not exceed a maximum speed of 20 miles per hour. Electric bikes may not be operated on sidewalks or areas where the motor vehicle laws would otherwise apply, such as bike paths, cycle tracks, footpaths, hiking trails, or cross-country ski trails. Riders are required by law to wear a protective helmet at all times. Connecticut does not require registration for electric bikes. However, Connecticut requires licensing and registration of mopeds, including all electric bikes with throttles, as they are considered mopeds under state law.
Electric bike laws by state can be a bit confusing. However, if you follow the simple rules and regulations set by your state's law, you can fully enjoy the benefits of electric bikes without any legal issues. Remember that this article only covers electric bike laws in the United States of America.